Rap Psalm

file0002105100289

It’s a wonderful ability

to have the agility

the bouncebackabilty

to make a smile

your default style

to shine with grace

on your face

and carry on ….

When ill winds have blown

when bad times are known

when faced with pain and loss

when no-one gives a toss …

When unpredictability

rocks your calm stability

highlights your fragility …

When you’re tossed about

wracked with fear and doubt

you bear a heavy load

walk a rocky road …

Family matters

Plans in tatters

Bodily pain

Physical strain

Issues at work

Colleagues that irk

get you down

make you drown …

When a cavern of dark

makes sorrow so stark

when colors are grey

day after day …

When there seems no way out

you’re filled with self doubt

so full of stress

you’re a hopeless mess …

Can you rise above

like a dove

flying high

in the sky?

Can you turn your back

choose another track

turn away from the black?

Yes, you can.

You can stand on the Rock

on the strong building block

stretch your hand out to knock

on the door that will yield

seek your Strength and your Shield

let your soul be restored

let the Word be your Sword.

And you will soar

on wings for sure.

be given capability

for bouncebackability.

© Ellen Carr 2014

Bouncebackability‘ is a new word, recently added to the Oxford Dictionary. It is defined as ‘the capacity to recover quickly from a setback’.

When things are tough we can, with God’s help, bounce back. God can definitely help us at these times. He can restore our hope and joy.

However, there are times when we need human help as well, in the form of counselling, pastoral help or medical help, as well as help from friends and family. God can use any or all of these too to help us bounce back.

This poem is intended to be read as a ‘rap’. Any rap artists out there who’d like to perform it for me? Please let me know!

I’ve put some Bible references below, relating to what the poem says about how God helps us to bounce back.

The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. (Psalm 18:2 NIV)

So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. (Luke 11:9 NIV)

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him. (Psalm 28:7 KJV)

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. (Psalm 23:3 KJV)

Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. (Ephesians 6:17 NIV)


…but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will
soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.( Isaiah 40:31 NIV)

Leave a Reply

