My shepherd leads

My tender shepherd

leads me on stone

through the rough country

to paths yet unknown.

You know the right way

when rocks abound.

You urge me on

through land-mine ground.

Where is green pasture,

and water still,

easy for resting,

no challenge to will?

You pull at my faith-strings,

you challenge my mind.

No path-walking venture,

I’m travelling blind.

You promise your presence,

I know you are there.

Tired and deflated

I treasure your care.

Invisible road-map

my shepherd can read.

Trusting your pathway,

I follow your lead.

© Ellen Carr 2010

Leave a Reply

